New Album!

On September 4th, the home recordings made by Andres Roots during this year's COVID spring will be issued as a CD album titled "Tartu Lockdown". The 13 tracks were originally released as the digital EPs "House Arrest", "House Arrest 2" and "House Arrest 3" in March, April and May 2020. The photos used in the cover design were taken by Kiur Kaasik during the making of the Tartu 2024 video project "Spring 2020" that interviewed 10 cultural figures in lockdown in Tartu and Southern Estonia.

The album sleeve and the original EP covers were designed by the Tartu artist Siret Roots, the music was remastered for album release by Asko-Romé Altsoo. The liner notes for the CD were written by the international blues journalist Norman Darwen, who currently contributes to magazines such as Blues & Rhythm, Blues in Britain, Blues Matters, RnR and Blues in the South in the UK, Bluesnews in Norway and Twoj Blues in Poland. Since the 1980's, he has provided sleevenotes for a long list of blues releases from Elmore James and Howlin' Wolf to Otis Grand and Buddy Guy.

"One positive of the whole COVID-19 pandemic is the music on this CD," writes Darwen. "Like some of the best blues, these are responses to a specific situation that also transcend it. This is totally enjoyable, thoughtful and thought-provoking music, however and whenever you’re listening to it."

"Tartu Lockdown" tracklist: 1. Lindberg Boogie / 2. Fretless Wonder / 3. Soup City Blues #3 / 4. Black River Blues / 5. Hello Neighbour #1 / 6. Minor Gripes / 7. Springtime Blues / 8. For Future Reference / 9. Hello Neighbour #2 / 10. One String Racket / 11. Lockdown Special / 12. Woof Woof / 13. Extra Noodles.

To pre-order your signed copy of the album for 15.90 (shipping included), simply e-mail with your shipping address and preferred method of payment - Roots Art Records accepts both bank transfers and PayPal. We'll send you an invoice, you'll send us the money, and we'll ship out the CDs before September!