Friday, September 19, 2014

Lerwick CD Tracklist + Pipeline Review!

Recorded over two nights at the Mareel last September at the 10th Shetland Blues Festival, Steve Lury & Andres Roots "Live In Lerwick" with Peeter Piik & Paul Archibald will be released on CD in November 2014. The tracklist is confirmed as follows, with a total running time of just under 50 minutes:

1. Tomorrow Night (Junior Wells)
2. Born Blind (Sonny Boy Williamson II)
3. Rambler's Blues (Tampa Red)
4. Build Me A Statue (Andres Roots)
5. Take A Little Walk With Me (Robert Lockwood Jr.)
6. Driftin' Blues (Charles Brown)
7. Walkin' Blues (Robert Johnson)
8. Gone To Main Street (Muddy Waters)
9. You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had (Muddy Waters)
10. What's The Matter With The Mill (Memphis Minnie)

In other news, discusses the upcoming Hurriganes tribute compilation here and a lengthy "Trad.alt.blues" segment of the Music In The Mail show which originally aired on Free Radio Santa Cruz on Sept. 12th can now be streamed below (starts 01:12:12).

And there's more: the UK's rock instrumental magazine Pipeline has published a wonderful review of last year's "Three!" album by Andres Roots Roundabout. Alan Taylor writes: "This is a blues album at heart and as such it is the best instrumental blues album that I have ever had the pleasure of hearing. With plenty of tasty slide guitar work on both electric and acoustic guitars, it mixes bluesy rock tracks with swinging lighter numbers that provide variety and contrast - and at an average length of just over three minutes none of them outstays their welcome either...Most enjoyable and highly recommended."

Meanwhile, in the Sept. 16th issue of Virumaa Teataja, Inna Grünfeldt describes Roots & Terep's recent recent library gig in Rakvere as follows: "The music flooded every nook and cranny of the building, even the walls were vibrating. The duo had promised to play as quietly as possible, but luckily, things were far from piano pianissimo. When after an hour the duo asked which of two very different tunes the audience would like to hear as the last piece of the concert, the answer was unanimous: "Both!""

Finally, a reminder of next week's Muddy Waters tribute gigs in Finland: the band consists of Ismo Haavisto, Andres Roots, Peeter Piik, and Matias Partanen, and the shows are: Sept. 25th - Vihreä Talo, Riihimäki; Sept. 26th - Old Cock, Lappeenranta; Sept. 27th - Ruskablues Festival, Koli. See you there!


No comments:

Post a Comment